•  

    Sedro-Woolley School District Title I, Part A Programs

     

    Title I, Part A is a federal program designed “To provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education, and to close educational achievement gaps.” Title I, Part A can support early learning and Kindergarten to grade 12. Title I, Part A programs and services provide customized instruction and curricula that helps these students meet academic standards and take an active, engaged interest in what they learn and can do. As the oldest and largest federal education program, Title I, Part A programs build equity of opportunity for children whose struggles often keep them on the academic sidelines.

    Teaching materials which supplement a student’s regular instruction Programs vary some by building, but additional instructional assistance can be:

    · Teachers and instructional aides

    · One-to-one or small group instruction

     

     Title I Programs

     Sedro-Woolley Title I Schools implement a Schoolwide Program. They are Mary Purcell, Central, Evergreen and State Street High School. 

    Schoolwide Program

    •         Schools must have 40% poverty or greater to implement a Schoolwide program
    •     Funds are used to improve the overall academic program of the school
    •      A Title I Schoolwide team must annually develop a Schoolwide plan that includes the following:

          Comprehensive needs assessment

                               School wide reform strategies

                               Provision for instruction by highly qualified professional staff 

                               Strategies for increasing parental involvement

                               Plans to facilitate transition from preschool to elementary school

                               Measures for including teacher input to improve student performance

                                          and the overall instructional program

                               Provision of assistance to struggling students

     

     

    To learn more about the programs at your school, contact:

     

    Central:            

    Melissa Stahlberg  mstahlberg@swsd101.org  (360)855-3560

    Nicole Seegers  nseegers@swsd101.org (360)855-3560

    Evergreen:        

    Becky Studebaker bstudebaker@swsd101.org  (360)855-3545

    Mary Purcell:   

    Christina Leber cleber@swsd101.org (360)855-3555 

    Amber Deffinbaugh adeffinbaugh@swsd101.org (360)855-3555

    State Street High School:

     Barb Askland baskland@swsd101.org (360)855-3753    

    District:            

    Laurinda (Rinny) Shelton  rshelton@swsd101.org  (360) 855-3879