• LAP Program Overview

     

    The Learning Assistance Program (LAP) is Washington's state-funded program (WAC 392-162 and Chapter 28A.165 RCW) that provides additional academic support to eligible students.

     

    Eligible Students
    Eligible students are those achieving below grade level on the state’s assessment, and 11th and 12th grade students at risk of not graduating. Achievement on district assessment of basic skills may also be considered.

    LAP funds are available to support programs in grades K-12 in reading, writing, mathematics, and readiness for those subjects.


    Eligible Programs

    LAP funds are available to support programs in grades K-12 in:

    ·         Reading

    ·         Writing

    ·         Mathematics

    ·         Readiness for Reading, Writing and Mathematics


    SWSD LAP Programs:

    10 SWSD schools have a LAP Program serving eligible students.  To learn more about the program in your building contact:

     

                 Big Lake Elementary –      

    Bill Crouse, bcrouse@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3525

                Central Elementary –        

    Nicole Seegers, nseegers@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3560

    Melissa Stahlberg, mstahlberg@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3560

                Clear Lake Elementary –      

    Amie Lloyd, alloyd@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3530

                Evergreen Elementary –        

    Becky Studebaker  bstudebaker@swsd.k12.wa.us,  (360)855-3545

                Lyman Elementary –              

    Laurie Anderson, landerson@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3535

                Mary Purcell Elementary –    

    Christina Leber, cleber@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3555

                Samish Elementary –            

    Pat Bensen,  pbensen@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3560

                Cascade Middle School –     

    Rochelle Pittis, rpittis@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3520

                SW High School –                

    Gary Warman. gwarman@swsd.k12.wa.us, 855-3510

                State Street High School –   

    Barb Askland,  baskland@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3550

               Sedro-Woolley School District Contact –                              

    Laurinda (Rinny) Shelton, rshelton@swsd.k12.wa.us, (360)855-3879

     

    To learn more about LAP:

    Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI)

    http://www.k12.wa.us/TitleI/LAP/default.aspx